Sinfield and Smith become latest inductees into Leeds Rugby Hall of Fame

Four legends of Leeds Rugby League history were inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame by the Leeds Rhinos Foundation Heritage Committee on Sunday with two players who each played over 450 games for the club, Kevin Sinfield OBE and Alan Smith, both present to accept their places in the prestigious collection of all-time greats.

It was an emotional day for Sinfield, as it came on the same day that he visited Emerald Headingley for his final game as Director of Rugby at Leeds Rhinos.

As well as Sinfield and Smith, legendary skipper Jim Brough and Challenge Cup and Championship winning prop Don Robinson were also inducted, both were represented by family members at the lunch.

The Hall of Fame lunch was hosted in the new Emerald Suite with over 200 guests in attendance. The occasion also marked two landmark anniversaries in the club’s history. It was 60 years since the 1961 Championship Final win over Warrington with six surviving players from the game guests of honour along with celebrating a decade since the Rhinos made history winning the 2011 Grand Final having finished fifth in the regular season.

The criteria for candidates to be considered for the Hall of Fame has been devised and suggested by the Leeds RL Heritage Committee which forms part of the Leeds Rhinos Foundation and is headed up by Chairman Phil Caplan.

Each candidate must have satisfied all four criteria to be considered for nomination for the Hall of Fame. The criteria are:

  • Played a minimum of 150 first team games for Leeds
  • Have made an exceptional contribution to rugby in Leeds
  • Achieved representative honours during their playing career

For more information about the Leeds Rhinos Foundation Heritage Committee, please visit